Field rotation – Acoustic Tales

Field rotation – Acoustic Tales

Ambient, electroacoustic

Denovali records

01 Acoustic Tale 1 (Introduction)
02 Acoustic Tale 2
03 Acoustic Tale 3
04 Acoustic Tale 4 (with Danny Norbury)
05 Acoustic Tale 5
06 Acoustic Tale 6
07 Acoustic Tale 7 (inspired by F. Kafka)
08 Acoustic Tale 8 (dedicated to S. Rachmaninoff)
09 Acoustic Tale 9
10 Acoustic Tale 10
11 Acoustic Tale 11 (Appendix)

The eleven tracks by the electronic music composer and producer Christoph Berg, released by Denovali records, is something worth putting your hands and ears on. Released in different formats (Vinyls, mp3 and a sold out edition of 200 Cds), Berg can reach out to fans of either formats (well, except those who like CDs, I guess) with his chilling tales.

“Acoustic tales” combines sound manipulations with acoustic instruments and field recordings, and creates a cinematic atmosphere that is saturated with tension, along many other emotions that are caught in between the various sounds. The first time I had listened to this album was right after listening to “arpenter” by D’incise and coincidentally, many elements were similar between the two albums, although Berg keeps his album centered on music instead of sounds, with beautiful melodies and movements. What I found similar, however, was the background sounds of distant, vague objects that are forming together the set in which Berg’s tales are taking place. The appearance, however brief, of children’s voices and laughter on the sixth part of the album forms an apex for the album by adding a surprising, new dimension to the music. It’s a joyous moment and it fades away back into the epic opus that began on track number one.

A brief, distant ringing of bells on track number eight has a ceremonial context to it, adding another point of reference to the eleven parts world of Field Rotation. This moment gets an interesting symmetrical response from track number nine, in the form of digital rhythm and beeps. The old and dark approach of the eighth track is answered by a Radiohead like exposition of the ninth track, and then, halfway through it, the problem is solved by merging these two ideas together, through the addition of weeping violins to the electronic music.

Cristoph Berg is using a versatile array of instruments and intelligently combines them together for a creation that is aware of its own potential and knows how to fulfill it. This is the album “Acoustic Tales”, and you should get either the Vinyl version or the downloadable version from the label if you know what’s good for you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s